The Eswatini Olympic and Commonwealth Games Association President Adam Mthethwa gave a proud statement following the successful issuing of the Youth Scholarship Programme. This is what the President had to say. “The Youth Athlete Scholarship Programme is the first of its kind in the country. It has been triggered by the need and desire to equip young elite athletes with the skills to compete at the highest level.

This group of athletes has been carefully selected, considering their performance and potential in their various sporting codes. They have been earmarked present in the country at the next Youth Olympic Games, which will be held in Senegal in 2026. Some of the athletes have also been identified to potentially transition into the senior athlete scholarship programme, which currently supports the likes of Swazi Bolt, Thabiso Dlamini and others.

The scholarship programme being launched today is initially for a period of 15 months, starting in October 2023 and ending in December 2024, and worth E1 million Emalangeni. Depending on the outcome of this phase, we intend to extend this programme going forward.

we would like to extend our congratulations to the athletes for being selected into this programme. This has been as a result of their dedication in the various sports they are engaged in and the effort and sweat that goes with it. We equally want to thank their parents for the support they have given their children thus far in their sporting endeavors. As the contracts are signed off today, this will be a significant step in further declaring your commitment and support towards all set of goals.

As we conclude, we want to give a shoutout to Olympic Solidarity for making this programme a reality. We now have renewed optimism for the future prospects of our athletes, and through this programme we believe that a medal at the Olympics is closer than ever.”

He concluded by thanking and congratulating all the recipients.

The recipients are Nokwethu Nhlabatsi, Mayibongwe Vilakati (athletics), Siboniso Vilakati (boxing), Kago Mamba (cycling), Tiano Fraser (swimming) and Sihlelelwe Matsebula and Sivunolesihle Dlamini (taekwondo).